Research Report (free marks! yay!)

May 21, 2010 § 13 Comments

This post is super-awesome‘… Why do they give you such an option when you’re writing something? I mean, OBVIOUSLY I think it’s super-awesome if I’m writing it, duh, but I’m also not going to click that button since it doesn’t really tell me what it’ll put up. For all I know, you guys will get a ‘this post was written by an egocentric douche‘ message. And I generally AM egocentric, but I’m certainly not a douche! Yuck. I REALLY want to tick that box though. Ah, to hell with it! This post is super-awesome? YESSIR!! πŸ˜€

I have to do a research project for one of my classes. The lecturer gave us the liberty to choose whatever topic we wanted, and my suggestions were

  • Pre-marital sex. Are you waiting or are you sexually active? (“Ugh, I hate it when adults use the term ‘sexually active’. What does it even mean? Am I gonna like deactivate some day or is it a permanent state of being?” *sigh* god, I love Juno! I digress…) Do you use protection? Each time? Multiple partners or one? Do you get tested regularly? Are you and your partner educated about diseases and pregnancy? You know, that sorta thing…
  • Interracial/inter-cultural marriage. I know this generally doesn’t sound like such a big deal topic any more, but I’m living in an Asian country right now, and let me just tell you, diversity is yet to reach here. I mean, several people that I talked to think it’s liberal when like Chinese and Indians get married, for example. The idea of marrying completely outside their race – to a black person, or to a white person, or any other kind of foreigner – drew quite a number of blank stares. It’s not even prejudice (though there’s quite a bit), it’s more of an inconceivable concept. I don’t understand it at all. (Er, I’m not generalizing though. I’m simply stating what I’ve observed.)
  • Religion. What faith do you subscribe to? Are you active or passive in practising your beliefs? Are you whatever religion you are out of personal choice, or is it ’cause of family/societal influence? How does religion impact our lives today?

We’re working in groups of three. One of my groupmates suggested that we do research on

  • Cosmetic surgery. Necessity versus vanity? Does it go against any religious/cultural beliefs? Would you go under the knife/would you support someone’s need to go under the knife? Does it raise self-confidence, or is it just a sign of low self-esteem?

Hmmm, the third member doesn’t even deserve to have her topics mentioned (the importance of history and why do we cut down trees? and women are better drivers than men, etc. Yawn.) In the end, we decided to go with religion. Needless to say, i’m pretty damn excited!! πŸ™‚ Religion (and my battles with/against it) has always been a pretty pivotal part of my life and my personality (and I shall write about in detail in one of my next posts. You can hardly stand the excitement, huh?)

I’m THOROUGHLY open to discussing ANYTHING based on religion. If you wanna about any religious topic, hit me up on my email (youknow_nobody@yahoo.com) or just comment in the comment box thingy below and we can express ourselves πŸ™‚ Don’t expect me to agree with everything you say though, and please don’t be offended by anything I say (I say some things simply for argument’s sake, and some of my opinions are just plain controversial).

But for now, please please do the poll? πŸ™‚ And if you have time, you can even take my survey… It’s really short, just a couple of questions. Please and thank you πŸ™‚

Or you can take my survey πŸ™‚

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Research Report (free marks! yay!)

  • admblind says:

    Hey look it’s that guy who’s got nothing better to do but read blogs πŸ™‚ i’m guessing malaysia ne? Religion is bunk, if you were here for what the churches here are doing you’d weep for the brainwashed sunday school attendees

    • nobodyouknow says:

      And please refrain from looking for anything better to do! πŸ™‚ Yup, Malaysia. It’s scary how REAL the brainwashing is for those poor kiddies, but somehow I still think of (irregularly) attending sunday school as a better option than not going at all – at least to build a moral base when you’re young. Maybe it’s just a product of my upbringing…

  • Peter says:

    How do like WordPress so far? Bet you can’t have a nice looking poll widget like this one with Blogger right?

    • nobodyouknow says:

      I’m definitely liking WordPress – it’s a bit addictive and I’ve been neglecting my other blog :/ Ha ha, I just discovered that you CAN have a poll with Blogger, they’ve really increased their features πŸ™‚

  • Hi
    hiiiiiii omg hmph religion confuses me soooo much!!
    I follow christianity blindly i really dont have alot to say that its done for me…really….but sometimes we desperately need something to believe in…and thats where my christianity comes in

    so my dear nobody,i dont know what to answer to your poll

    • nobodyouknow says:

      I guess you either answer ‘christian’ or you answer ‘other’. When I can’t be bothered to explain myself to someone, i identify myself technically as a christian. But if I was to take my poll, I’d probably choose other since I’m still confused-ish.

      I know what you mean about desperately needing something to believe in…

  • bint Ali says:

    Did your survey and your poll…

    Wish we had such interesting topics to write about when I was still in the Halls of Education. Instead, people literally backed away from talking about anything remotely challenging – and religion topped the list.

    Good luck with the paper. Hope the TreeLady pulls herself together and doesn’t suggest you write about “The Eco-Spiritual Impact of God Burning A Tree to Talk to Moses.”

    bA.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      HAHAHAHA!!! πŸ˜€ Oh my, you’ve made me crack up πŸ˜€ That’d be an interesting topic though, eh? I might just be the one to suggest it – steal TreeLady’s thunder πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for doing both πŸ™‚ Do you mind if I e-mail you and ask you some of the questions I have some time? I’m still on the journey to find what’s ‘right’ for me…and besides, I just like to be informed on important topics like religion. Ignorance kills me.

  • bint Ali says:

    Suggest it by all means…might make TreeLady come alive and bloom, eh?

    You’re welcome – it was an interesting poll. And of course you can email me anytime. We’re all on that journey together and if we don’t share information and tips on what’s worked with each other, who will?

    Hah. Ignorance is killing the world…if only more people would realised that! 😦

    Will keep an eye out for that mail then.

    bA.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Ha ha! πŸ˜€ I’m beginning to think YOU might be a TreeLady too…those are way too many good puns! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      I’ll email you soon. Probably on Friday. Thanks a lot πŸ™‚

  • bint Ali says:

    What? As in, yeah I’m all for not missing the trees for the wood…but this is the way I always talk! (well, mostly.)

    Friday sounds good. Mind-bending is one of the best ways to start off a productive weekend. But any day is fine really – my email account never sleeps…

    bA.

  • bint Ali says:

    Yup, still Friday for some time…

    No mail yet though – I’ll keep an eye out in the spam folder as well, just in case…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Research Report (free marks! yay!) at Everything About Nothing..

meta