A Reflection Of Just Who We Are Today.

May 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m one of those people that’s perpetually behind on the news. About 3 weeks or so ago, I was on some site – probably yahoo! answers or something, don’t really remember – and this girl was very expressively stating her views on parenting methods and children these days, etc., and she brought up the Phoebe Price case. This was the first I was hearing of it (although it happened in January. Oh, the shame!) so I google-whored my way out of ignorance.
I tend to emotionally-distance myself from all these tragic tales, not because I don’t care, but because sometimes that’s what we have to do to keep living in a world filled with so many injustices. This got to me though. I don’t know if you’ve heard her story? This is a break-down of it:
She was an Irish girl, who had moved to the states about four months before. And you know how there’re ‘hierarchies’ or whatever in school, right? The popular kids who feel like it’s their right to sort of rule the school? Okay, this is the part of the story I’m sort of hazy on ’cause I didn’t think it was too important, so don’t quote me – a guy that one of the ‘popular’ girls liked was into Phoebe. And I guess they slept together or whatever, and this girl got royally pissed, ’cause Phoebe didn’t ‘know her place’. (bit I’m even hazier on) she also slept with another guy, I’m just not sure how exactly he ties into the story…
Anyway, all this resulted in Phoebe being called a slut, and all those other nice words teenagers keep throwing around, and it escalated into serious bullying. Not only did they torment her in school, but also in the cyberworld (because aren’t facebook and twitter and formspring and all these other social networking sites all so pleasant?). And I mean TORMENTING her. In school. Via her phone – they used to text and call her constantly [she changed her number at least 3 times. Hopeless]. On the internet… There was just no escaping them.
She reported the bullying to the school authorities…nothing. A group of students saw what was happening once and also went to the school authorities…still nothing. Her MOTHER reported her concern over the bullying…more nothing. Once even, apparently, there was a TEACHER present who witnessed the bullying…you get the drift. Fun, eh?
On January 14th, I guess she’d just had a particularly gruesome day. As she was walking home from school, one of the girls drove past her, threw a can out of the window at her, and yelled a final insult. That must have been the last straw because “Phoebe kept walking, past the abuse, past the can, past the white
picket fence, into her house. Then she walked into a closet and hanged
herself. Her 12-year-old sister found her.” (I’m thoroughly tempted to Harvard reference, but I shall refrain)
I don’t know what frame of mind she was in that day. Obviously, she must have been suffering from depression. But I’m assuming it wasn’t pre-meditated because she didn’t say any ‘goodbyes’ and she had the dress, the date, and the excitement for her school’s cotillion which was only 2 days away.
And I’m also making no judgements about her sexual activities. The 2 boys were charged with statutory rape (she was 15. Did I mention that?) but I don’t know enough to state whether or not it was what she wanted.
BUT HERE’S WHAT GOT TO ME –
She was dead. Tragically young, it could’ve been prevented, et cetera, so a memorial page was started on facebook. And they abused her on it. On the page created in her memory. She was DEAD, and they were still saying how she ‘deserved’ it. One of the girls put ‘accomplished’ as her status the day phoebe killed herself.
And 2 days later, they were all at the cotillion laughing and generally having a gay old time.
Now, I know humans can be…how shall I say this politely?…messed up. I KNOW that.
But I still don’t get this.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Reflection Of Just Who We Are Today. at Everything About Nothing..

meta

