Blogger vs. WordPress

May 17, 2010 § 32 Comments

Right. So I already have a blog (youknownobody.blogspot.com) on blogger, but lately I’ve been reading more and more wordpress.com blogs and have strangely been filled with jealousy. Ugh. And I know that everyone generally maintains that blogger is much much better for free blogging (if you want your own domain name, wordpress.org wins hands down), but I like to make decisions for myself. Even more than that, I like arguing a point against the greater majority🙂 So I brought myself here. Let’s see what wordpress can do for my anonymous blog🙂

What I can’t seem to decide is whether my posts on both sites should be different, or whether they should be ‘twins’? Hmmm… I think I’ll just do whatever i goddamn please whenever. Sounds good, yes?

LET THE BATTLE OF THE BLOGSITES BEGIN, BABY!!!

Wow, this is a pretty sucky first post though.

Tagged: ,

§ 32 Responses to Blogger vs. WordPress

  • Peter says:

    It should be interesting to follow🙂

  • Novroz says:

    Welcome to WP🙂

    I also have a blog in blogspot but I called as Novroz’ Unused Blog because I never post anything there except an introduction to my WP blog. For me, the battle won by wordpress😉

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Thanks🙂 I’m liking wordpress so far even though I’m still a newbie. Just checked and blogger has added new features too…looks like this battle’s going to be harder than I thought. Perfect.🙂

      • Novroz says:

        WP just lost the battle by adding that silly reblog button😦

        It’s so sad to see that they are ignoring our request for an opt-out feature…I probably will move my blog out of WP soon…

        • nobodyouknow says:

          I don’t mind it too much ’cause you HAVE to linkback if you reblog, right? But they should definitely let people opt out if they want to. Not everyone wants their stuff re-posted! Let’s hope they’ll refine it soon and let people choose. The WP community will miss you if you decide to leave😦

          • Novroz says:

            I decided -after thinking a looong time- to stay and hoping that my content isn’t good enough to be reblogged.

            2nd generation reblog will lose the link to its original post😦

            • nobodyouknow says:

              That sucks! I hope the WP admin read all the protest of this in the forum. Forcing us to either allow reblogging or go private is the fastest way to lose us bloggers. So if they don’t change this, I’ll be leaving too…

  • Cassandrae says:

    Welcome!!! See how nice it is here in the Hamptons??? The battle was won a long time ago =P

  • Slik says:

    Welcome to WP.com just a small tip for you if you have duplicate content on your WP & blog spot blog Google could mark your blogs as spam and stop indexing your sites.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Really?? Oh man, thanks. I think I’ll just keep both blogs up since according to my stats, that link is my biggest referrer and one of the most clicked on🙂

  • Novroz says:

    Another tip…you can make new category here🙂 I have 3 blogs here and all of them have different purposes. It’s really fun keeping 3 different materials in 3 separate places

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Oooh, that sounds like fun!🙂 I’d probably need to put up quite a few more posts and increase my blogging activity before I add new categories though.
      Thanks for the tip🙂

  • Mindless Rambler says:

    I’ve also got duplicate blogs here and on blogger until I decide which one works for me best. Going to follow you :o)

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Thanks for following me🙂 Which one is winning for you so far – blogger or WP?? I’m still confused, though I haven’t really posted anything on blogger in a while…

      • Mindless Rambler says:

        Oh I’m so not sure as I like aspects of them both. So hard to decide so keeping them both running for a while longer. x

  • willowbatel says:

    Hahahaha, I love the last line. It’s so random and perfect. Completely brilliant.
    I looked very carefully at which blogging site I was going with when I was first starting out. At first I figured blogger would be easiest/best, but then I came to WP and was sort of drawn to it. I pretty much made my decision the minute I clicked its link. WP has a great staff, plenty of helpful people, and hundreds of others who are willing to skim through whatever you’re writing about.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Ha ha, it’s true though, right?🙂

      I think that’s what draws me to WP most – the community. People actually read your shit, and comment on it, and it’s all just so…nice.
      My other blog is a little abandoned right now mostly cause it’s so hard to get a comment and most of the time it just felt like I was speaking to myself. Gets a little boring after a while. Not that I mind talking to myself🙂

  • willowbatel says:

    Hehe I know what you mean. If it weren’t for the fact that I convinced myself I was writing to the future me, I probably would’ve stopped blogging a while ago. I thrive on views/comments, so when I don’t get too many I get kind of sad.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Writing to the future you?? Hahaha, that’s a good one!😀
      I know what you mean…my stats page is probably the one I visit most. So WordPress gets a thumbs down for giving me another sick obsession!

      • willowbatel says:

        Lol I KNOW. My comments page is the first page I go to, and then it’s straight to the stats page after that. Every time I see the little orange box that shows I have comments, my heart swells. It’s really not healthy, I should probably check to see if I have a clogged artery. Lol.

        • nobodyouknow says:

          Ahahaha😀 Should probably get that checked out😉 Especially now that I’m back after having the WORST assignment-filled week, I’m about to go on a rampage commenting on everything. You have been warned.

  • Maina says:

    Blogger is dead. Kaput. Finito. Imeangushwa. Their main disadvantage is the lack of a mobile site and in this day and age, no one has the patience to let blogger load.

    But there are ‘new’ entrants especially Posterous and Tumblr. Tumblr is quite preferred, after WP of course, when people are going to have sites hosted externally.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      You’re so right. R.I.P Blogger…😦

      I’ve seen one or two Tumblr blogs, but all the posts seem a little short… Is that e requirement, or is it just the ones I’ve checked out?

  • Pilot says:

    i had a blog @blogger (http://tech-aet.blogspot.com) recently i switched to wordpress (http;//techypilot.wordpress.com). then i started to think have i made a right decision or not. so i was reading several posts about blogger vs wordpress, and found youknownobody post. comments on this post gave me some ideas about what i’m looking for.

  • msstress says:

    Hello, I am new to blogging and generally i dont know how to make my blog look so pretty.you seem very knowledgeable about it and i would like your help. how do you establish a category cloud? and afrigator and a blog rating and all of that?? it would be much appreciated if you helped me.

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Hey🙂 Sorry I’ve taken so damn long to reply – been a little bit anti the blogosphere lately. Anyway, first of all, thank you for calling me knowledgeable🙂 Most of what I have on my blog is actually trial and error. Just checked out your blog and I’m guessing you figured out the category cloud thing ’cause you already have one… Um, where are your posts though? When will you start blogging? I encourage you to🙂
      You find the ratings on the sidebar in your dashboard and then just change the settings to whatever suits you.
      For the afrigator thing, go to afrigator.com, join it and add your blog url to the list of blogs.
      I dunno if you’re Kenyan? If you are, go to kenyaunlimited.com and do the same.

      If you have any other questions, I’d be glad to answer🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Blogger vs. WordPress at Everything About Nothing..

meta

