Rediscovery.

May 18, 2010 § 9 Comments

When I used to get emotional – angry, sad, scared, confused, hurt, lonely – I would sit down, and just write and write poetry (sometimes 5 or 6 in one sitting) until eventually my energy would be channelled away from what I was feeling, and into what I was saying. Then I’d stop. I don’t believe I’m particularly talented or gifted at it, but it’s what would get me through those dark spots. About two years ago though, I guess I just felt too much at once, you know? And nothing could help. I haven’t written a poem since.

I’m trying to get back some of the old me. I used to be so wonderfully creative – I wrote short stories, I wrote poems, I played piano, I sung… But I just dropped everything one by one, and now i feel so…dry. And devoid. Of course I’m not yet ready to just pick up a pen and get back to it, but I’m hoping for inspiration. So I’m going to start by posting maybe a few of my poems, maybe even a story when I’m ready, and then hopefully, eventually, i’ll be brave enough to reopen that chapter of my life.

So, these poems have been shared with no one. EVER. I’m literally shaking at just the thought of putting them out there for someone, anyone to see. But I invite criticism. I last wrote when I was 17, and I started at about 13. Since I figured out the importance of dating my work way too late, everything I post, until I eventually state otherwise, is from that period of my life.

They’re really not very good, I know, but hopefully I’ve grown (still am) since then.

*sigh*

So here’s one:

I clutch the pieces of my heart close to me.

The blood drips between my fingers

Yet my eyes remain dry.

Another piece falls out and I choose to let it go

Or risk losing the rest of me.

I can never be whole again

But I will remain strong!

Don’t look into my eyes

Ignore my despair.

My heart is breaking

And no one even knows.

Tagged: ,

§ 9 Responses to Rediscovery.

  • Cassandrae says:

    Babe, you know you can IMPORT your other posts, so that all the posts from blogger are here.. With the dates and the comments and everything..

    • nobodyouknow says:

      😮 really?? I knew that! *ahem* Look, some of us are just not tech savvy, okay?🙂 He he, thanks for that, I’m on it!

      • nobodyouknow says:

        But wait! Stop confusing me, I want to see which site is better… I’m not yet ready to move! Or can I still import and keep both and both are updated?? *sigh* #confused

        • Cassandrae says:

          Yeah.. i you’d just write whatever you were writing and post on both.. Right?

          I’m just saying import cuz it’s so weird the way it looks like you JUST STARTED BLOGGING.

  • admblind says:

    Don’t import em just yet though. I’d rather shuttle back and forth from the two before you put up your archives here. Confuses less

  • Cassandrae says:

    omg we are such a COMMUNITY.. :O

  • admblind says:

    my news feed is filled with you guys 8)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rediscovery. at Everything About Nothing..

meta

