Bloggers Beware!

May 24, 2010 § 25 Comments

Gosh, this is just a quick one. I saw something about content being stolen from people’s posts, so I did a quick Google search of some of my work and found it re-posted on other dodgy sites (verbatim except for the inclusion of random links to their other presumably more dodgy sites), no acknowledgement, no links, nothing!

I now have a creative commons license for my work (get your own here), so any of you thinking about stealing my work (but why???) without acknowledging me or linking back to my blog, stop because it’s ILLEGAL! And yes, I can and WILL report you!

I strongly advise all of you to get your own license – it’s free🙂 (that’s what you were waiting to hear, huh?)

Tagged: , ,

§ 25 Responses to Bloggers Beware!

  • Novroz says:

    Thanks for the link🙂

    I know I have 2 of my posts re-posted by someone but fortunately they give the link back to my blog … but honestly I still like it better if the told me 1st. I haven’t tried searching it in google yet, I will soon…and hoping no one had stolen my work.

    I know my pictures had been copied by a lot of people, that’s why I labeled all my pictures now. (Pictures of my pets and my snapshots)

    • nobodyouknow says:

      You’re welcome🙂

      It’s always better to be told first, but at least they linked back to you and didn’t try to pass off your work as theirs. You should try a search soon…
      It’s a good idea to label your pictures, I dunno why people are crazy enough to steal anything and everything though🙂

      • Novroz says:

        I did some searching and…voila, I found some who had copied my Content without Linking *pissed-off*

        I did that copyright thing…I hope it’s working

        • nobodyouknow says:

          Argh, it’s so annoying, right? Hope you told them to either take it down or link back to you? The copyright thingy must be working, because the posts I’d found are now gone, and I haven’t found any new ones🙂

  • cdohnio says:

    I’d like to know how you did the search so I can check for mine too…not sure about wether I want to license my work because I pick parts from elsewhere sometimes…

  • Mindless Rambler says:

    Thanks for this xx

  • admblind says:

    I think it’s ok if they repost my stuff as long as i get a link back. But you should be able to stop random servers picking up your work with the akismet app on wordpress. Just check the wordpress blog

    • nobodyouknow says:

      I’m cool with it too, but the key part is they MUST link back to me! The ones I found had no form of reference at all to the original writer. Sucks.

      I don’t understand the akismet thingy though – it just tells me bout spam and ham..?

  • Thanks so much! I am new to this blogging so this was really helpful

  • Um how do i add my licence to my blog lol

  • No way! I don’t know why I’m so surprised but I am. Thanks for letting us know, I’ll google mine, too.
    Mon

    • nobodyouknow says:

      I was actually pretty surprised too – I don’t really see how anyone would benefit from stealing stuff from my personal blog. Doesn’t really make much sense to me. But you’re welcome🙂

  • Eric C. says:

    I just started blogging, but it’s still good to have this tidbit of information. Thanks for the link!

  • Anubhav says:

    This is bullshit. I have a site which I have copied from many others. The best thing is I enjoy good SERP. No one can get me to remove those, although many tried. LOL. Your advises are not practical.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bloggers Beware! at Everything About Nothing..

meta

