Music Week (Day 1)

November 20, 2010 § 2 Comments

As usual I have about 15 incomplete posts just waiting to be finished and published, but I want to do something different today. If you hadn’t noticed already, to me music = life. If I’m not listening to something, then I’m almost definitely singing to myself or drumming out beats. And if I’m not doing THAT, then be sure the secondary voice in my head (not the one thinking and saying stuff, but the background one) is doing the same – playing a song, or singing, or making beats. I used to think everyone felt that way, but I get surprised time after time when I talk to people who like music fine, but it isn’t their main squeeze, you know? Anyway, every day for a week, starting today, I’m going to write the lyrics of a song I’m really feeling. It could be the whole song, it could be just a verse or the chorus or whatever. It may be a favourite song, or it may just be something I listen today every once in a while. Whatev.

 

SLIP OUT THE BACK

Fort Minor

I’m no hero, you remember how I was, you know

All I ever did was worry, feeling out of control

To the point where everything was going end over end

I’m spinning around in circles again

This is where you come in

All of this to explain to you why

I had to separate myself away from yesterday’s life

Please remember this isn’t how I hoped it would be

But I had to protect you from me

That’s why I slipped out the back before you knew I was there

I know you felt unprepared

But every single time I was around I just bring you down

And I could tell that it was time to be scared

That’s why I slipped out the back before you knew I was there

And I know the way I left wasn’t fair

I didn’t want to be around just to bring you down

I’m not a hero but don’t think I didn’t care

Slip Out the Back by Fort Minor

The Rising Tied

Image via Wikipedia

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Music Week (Day 1)

  • Lisa says:

    Listening to Make Me Bad by Korn.

    I don’t believe I’ve heard that song, but dig the lyrics!

    • nobodyouknow says:

      And I’d never heard Make Me Bad, but now I have, and I’m really into it🙂 Can you recommend any more songs by Korn (I keep meaning to start a collection of their music cuz I only have 1 or 2 songs and that’s the extent of my knowledge of their music, but…procrastination)?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music Week (Day 1) at Everything About Nothing..

meta

