Music Week (Day 3)

February 22, 2011 § 4 Comments

So I’m going to cheat a little today. Obviously, it’s no longer the same week that I originally started Music Week in. But for once I want to finish something I’ve started, so I’m not going to post anything else until I’m done with all seven days regardless of however long it takes me in reality.

I’m also cheating today because I am not writing the lyrics to a song, but the words to a spoken word piece. But in reality, there’s no real difference, it’s all poetry. I think I have the words right (feel completely free to correct me) but obviously I’m not really sure of the most appropriate method to punctuate it when it’s written down. Sorry about that🙂

SMOKE

Imani Woomera

Its beauty is announced as I…

Exhale

Reminding me of the movements of an exotic dancer

Gracefully curving and circulating the space and objects

I…

Imagine it representing myself


Therapeutic and ancient

It rests in the live cells of a tree

Waiting patiently to be released by the kiss of a flame

That existed long before it had been given a name

And after all that time it remains not the same –

Sadly it had to go through some catastrophic change


Now it circulates the air everywhere

Smoke polluted by cars in squares

I can smell it being burned over there

By those folks in those chairs

And we can’t seem to get a breath of fresh air anywhere


Smoke is symbolic

Its marking is evident

It’s ability to represent is simply magnificent

Burning as incense and using sacraments

But…

I see these beautiful people’s lips

Puffing upon white cancer sticks

And our precious breathing lungs absorb the tar-filled smoke like a sponge

And it spreads out out attack children and everyone

Rotten lungs…

Rotten lungs


Air is essential

Its cleanliness is fundamental

Its importance is undeniable

Its abuse is unjustifiable

And all this smoke is making breathing unbearable

And all that it affects is unexplainable


But I ask if you could take a look inside

And see exactly what it’s doing to your anatomy

Would you continue to pay $3.50 for a box of captivity?

‘Cuz they keep you addicted faithfully

Only for them to gain financially

Don’t you see?

Or are you unconsciously contributing to a destructive reality?

Saying,

“It’s okay, it’s only me

This is how I choose to be

It helps me deal with my reality

I’m going through changes

Just let me be

Leave me…

Alone.”


Listen, I know you’re not proud

Your head is in a smoky cloud

But I gotta say it out loud

Get. It. Together.

Cigarette smoking is far from clever

It’s nasty for your health, your breath and for your long-time pleasure

Imagine being 50 years old

And having emphysema or lung cancer

And still smoking those sticks

Through the hole that they cut in your neck

Can’t even catch your breath

Can’t even have sex

So outta shape, no muscles to flex

Put that butt out and give it a rest

Plus why you so concerned about how you look on the outside

When you’re deteriorating your insides?

Inhaling that poison through your mouth

But toning up your hips and thighs?

What’s wrong with your eyes?

You’re not blind but you can’t see

Inhaling that shit obliviously?


Obviously you need to

Get

It

Together

Smoke by Imani

If you’ve never heard of her, or had the opportunity to listen to one of her pieces, there are links throughout this post to her various sites, etc. It’s all really good stuff – I highly recommend that you check it out.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Music Week (Day 3)

  • Lisa says:

    You make me feel better. It sometimes takes weeks for me to get a post together.

    That is beautiful, and no, never heard of her, but really like her message. If I had all the money my mom has spent over the years on cigs, I’d be a rich woman.

    Great to see you back!

    • nobodyouknow says:

      Thanks, it’s kinda nice being back… Your poetry (and your other posts of course!) is one of the few things I read regularly, so I guess YOU make ME feel better🙂

      I have a love-hate relationship with those damn white sticks. Hope your ma manages to quit sometime soon🙂

  • cdohnio says:

    I was wondering when you come back…I’ve missed you

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music Week (Day 3) at Everything About Nothing..

meta

